Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu

Child Support Limit Increased In Texas

CSupport11

Child support is one of the most important considerations for children across the globe. Each state in the United States has its own set of child support calculations and limits. Before we get into the details, what does child support actually refer to? Essentially, it is a mandate by the government dictating support to be provided to a child by either or both parents.

When the parenting couple separates or goes through a divorce, it becomes their obligation to continue to care for the financial matters of the child or children. The non-custodial parent is expected to provide financial support for all matters of the children.

When Must Child Support Be Provided?

There are several considerations when determining how much child support must be paid as well as how long the child support must be paid. In most situations, child support will be required to be paid for the following times:

  1. Child support can be provided until such time the individual reaches age 18 or becomes a graduate of a high school, whichever event happens last.
  2. Child support also extends to children until they reach an age where they are emancipated through marriage, or by removal of minority disabilities.
  3. Child support extends until the death of the child.
  4. If the child suffers from some sort of disability for an indefinite period of time, child support becomes valid and mandatory.
  5. Child support comes to an end when the child in question is adopted by another individual.

If the child comes under any of these categories or until they reach that stage in life, child support is mandated by the government. This concept comes in especially handy when the parents are separating and they need to secure the future of the child.

What Factors Determine the Amount of Child Support?

When you calculate the child support money you need to keep aside for your child, there are quite a few factors to focus on.

  1. The annual income of the parent who is the non-custodial parent
  2. The number of children the couple has together
  3. What is the total amount contributed to health insurance on an annual basis
  4. Who pays for health insurance also figures into the calculation, and could be the custodial parent or the non-custodial parent

Recent Changes to Texas Child Support Laws

Very recently, effective September 1, 2019, the cap of child support has been increased from $1,710 per month to $1,840 per month. This refers to one child only and the amount increases based on the number of children. This announcement came in from the Office of the Attorney General for the State of Texas. If you aren’t certain whether this change of law will impact you and your child support, contact your attorney.

Contact an Experienced Child Support Attorney Today

If you are in the middle of a child support battle or have questions about the child support that you pay or receive, contact the Houston child support attorneys at Lindamood & Robinson, P.C. today to schedule a consultation.

Resource:

law.com/texaslawyer/2019/08/15/texas-child-support-increases-sept-1-could-you-be-affected/?.&slreturn=20190827145034

https://www.lawcl.com/what-issues-does-past-due-child-support-create/

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

Our Locations

Houston Map Location

Houston

1415 Louisiana Street, Suite 3450
Houston, TX 77002
phone 713-654-2112
League City Map Location

League City

2600 South Shore Blvd., Suite 300
League City, TX 77573
phone 281-486-6116

Contact a Member of the Firm